Links, July 20

HISTORY
THE GREAT WAR

French soldier’s room unchanged 96 years after his death in first world war
Sainsbury’s Christmas ad is a dangerous and disrespectful masterpiece
Fighting talk: how Tommies found a common language in the trenches: “First world war soldiers would fight side by side but often not share a language – so they invented their own”
Mother’s Day Turns 100: Its Surprisingly Dark History

ODE TO A FULLERPHONE

By Sigmn R.MELLOR, published in ‘Jimmy’,
the WW2 journal of the Royal Corps of
Signals in the Middle East (AN: also used in WWI, poem came up in re: ‘Tolkien and the Great War’)

What is my greatest joy in life,
More precious even than my wife,
So comforting ‘midst all this strife?
My Fullerphone.

How well I love your merry tricks;
Even when your buzzer sticks;
Delighting me with faint key clicks;
Oh Fullerphone.

How tunefully your buzzer throbs
As tenderly I turn those knobs.
Most fascinating of all jobs.
Oh Fullerphone.

Potentiometer, its true
I’m not sure what to do with you.
Yet even you add beauty to
My Fullerphone.

Oh how I pity those poor souls
Who daily work remote controls,
Attached to crazy wireless poles.
Oh Fullerphone.

They never hear the tuneful tones
Of perfect Morse within their ‘phones:
Just atmospherics, shrieks and groans.
Oh Fullerphone.

But I must cease to write more verse.
Communication getting worse.
No wonder that I rave and curse
At Fullerphone.

Asthmatic buzzers, – crazy keys.
How can one live a life of ease,
With damful instruments like these
Foul Fullerphones!

SEE ALSO THE HISTORY OF THE EMOTIONS POST FOR GIMSBY CHUMS, ET AL

Leave a Reply

