Philip Pullman’s Grimm Tales (Play)

hansel

 

In 2012 Philip Pullman published Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm. You might recall that I reviewed this translation for this publication. You might even recall that I wasn’t as impressed by it as I’d hoped to be, given my affection for Pullman’s writing. I wondered what the point had been. I was therefore deeply curious to see what the theatrical production Philip Pullman’s Grimm Tales: An Immersive Fairy-tale for Young and Old, presented at Shoreditch Town Hall in London, could make of the material. The answer is quite a bit, even if ultimately not as much as they might have made of, well, better material.

Read full review

 

Leave a Reply

